Bingham County NewsFeaturedFirth High SchoolFirth NewsFirth SchoolsSchoolsShelley High SchoolShelley NewsShelley Schools

Bingham County Mayors Scholarships being awarded to Firth, Shelley and students throughout the county

EDITOR’S NOTE: The following is a news release from the City of Blackfoot.

The Bingham County Mayors Scholarship Selection Committee has formally evaluated 76 applicants. Selections were made by contributing sponsors and committee members.

In total, $23,000 will be awarded to 46 applicants. These awards went to students from Bingham County high schools, to include Aberdeen, Blackfoot, Firth, Shelley, Sho-Ban, and Snake River.

All monetary support is a direct result of Bingham County Mayors Scholarship contributions made by the general public and the following corporate sponsors: Bingham Healthcare, Candy Jar-Public Service, Idaho Central Credit Union, Idaho National Laboratory, Shoshone-Bannock Tribes, Cox’s Honey, Odell’s Furniture, Diesel Depot, Lookout Credit Union, Premier Technology, Blackfoot Anesthesia Services, Forsgren Engineering, Larry & Irene Barrett, City of Aberdeen, Keller Associates, Bank of Commerce, and D.L. Evans Bank.

These scholarships will be used specifically for post-secondary education. This program helps eliminate barriers to a collegial education through financial assistance and sends a message to our youth that they can compete at any level.

All scholarships will be awarded at the annual Bingham County Mayors Scholarship Awards Gala, scheduled for Thursday, April 28, 2022, at 6:00pm in the Little Theatre at Shelley High School, 570 West Fir in Shelley.

We are grateful for the many generous donors who contributed to this effort. We invite all interested community members/organizations to visit the City of Blackfoot website at to make a donation to further this wonderful cause.

Congratulations to the following scholarship recipients from Firth and Shelley high schools.

Firth High School

  • Angel Arriaga (Idaho Central CU)
  • Aryiah Burnett (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Hannah Christensen (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Kyla Clapp (Keller Associates)
  • Phoenix Hevewah (INL)
  • Levi Madsen (Idaho Central CU)
  • Samuel Park (Candy Jar)
  • Tyler Telford (Forsgren Engineering)

Shelley High School

  • Nathan Ball (Forsgren Engineering)
  • Reese Callahan (Cox’s Honey)
  • Brock Deroche (Cox’s Honey)
  • Addey Greenhalgh (Bingham Healthcare)
  • Brooke Hess (Cox’s Honey)
  • Sabina Keenan (Odell’s Furniture)
  • Nikaya Swanson (Diesel Depot)
  • Adelyn Thompson (Candy Jar)

Upcoming Events